Industrial Communications

Industrial communication is an important field of our institute. It represents the backbone of each distributed automation solution and has to fulfill particular requirements which differ from the IT communication. As an example, we would like to mention the necessary real-time capabilities, robustness and reliability in industrial applications.

Our current topics in this area of competence are:

  • Industrial Ethernet
  • Industrial Wireless
  • IT Security
  • Systematic testing of communication systems
  • Plug-and-Play

Industrial Ethernet

The current situation in industrial communication technologies is represented as follows: Field bus systems are communication systems that had been specifically developed for the automation technology. They are forming the proven and millionfold used first generation of the industrial communication. The second generation of  industrial communication systems is based on Ethernet. However, the requirements of automation cannot be met by using Ethernet as it is. This had led to the fact that a multitude of real-time Ethernet concepts had been defined. The current focus of the work of our institute in the field of real-time Ethernet is the standard PROFINET.

IT Security

Due to the demand of a consistent networking a new challenge arose by using industrial Ethernet which had been completely unknown in the first generation of industrial communication systems: IT security. The risks of office communication related to IT security also exist in production systems. However, the demand for reliability of automation systems is much higher referring to machines and systems so that malfunctions due to attacks or malicious manipulations cannot be tolerated. Thus, the successful establishment of IT standards and remote technologies will highly depend on getting the IT security under control in spite of all advantages offered by this approach.

Industrial Wireless

By implementing industrial Ethernet it seems to be natural to use radio based communication standards from the IT field at the factory floor such as WLAN, Bluetooth or ZigBee. This way, it is for instance possible to link up mobile or moving machine parts easily to stationary parts of the machine. It is also easy to realise ad-hoc installations. But also here the same questions arise as for Ethernet: How can you guarantee the necessary real-time capability using radio-based communication systems, what about IT security? Whereas  international standard WirelessHART had been created in the field of process automation, the developments in the field of factory automation are still in progress. Another quite important question of radio-based communication is the coexistence capability of different radio technologies.

Systematic test of Communication Systems

Due to a series of research projects the institute disposes of outstanding metrological equipment and employees who are specifically certified for software tests. Therefore, we would like to further structure and develop the field of test services for communication systems. The spectrum is starting from comparative performance evaluations (benchmark) on the basis of empirical measurement or simulative approaches via conformance tests of IT protocols or coexistence evaluation of radio-based communication systems up to system integration tests of networked automation systems.

Professor

Prof. Dr. Jürgen Jasperneite
E-Mail: juergen.jasperneite(at)hs-owl.de
Phone: +49 (0) 5261 - 702 2401
Fax: +49 (0) 5261 - 702 2409

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Stefan Witte
E-Mail: stefan.witte(at)hs-owl.de
Phone: +49 (0) 5261 - 702 2404
Fax: +49 (0) 5261 - 702 2409

Prof. Dr. Oliver Niggemann
E-Mail: oliver.niggemann(at)hs-owl.de
Phone: +49 (0) 5261 - 702 2403
Fax: +49 (0) 5261 - 702 2409

Prof. Dr. Uwe Meier
E-Mail: uwe.meier(at)hs-owl.de
Phone: +49 (0) 5261 - 702 2405
Fax: +49 (0) 5261 - 702 85895

Prof. Dr. Stefan Heiss
Mail: stefan.heiss(at)hs-owl.de
Phone: +49 (0) 5261 - 702 2402
Fax: +49 (0) 5261 - 702 2409

Industrielle Kommunikation

Die industrielle Kommunikation ist das Rückgrat jeder dezentralen oder verteilten Automatisierungslösung und ist einer der wichtigsten Arbeitsbereiche des inIT. Im industriellen Kontext hat die Kommunikation, anders als in der IT, besondere Herausforderungen: Echtzeitfähigkeit, Robustheit und Zuverlässigkeit.

Unsere derzeitigen Themen in diesem Kompetenzbereich sind:

  • Industrial Ethernet
  • Industrial Wireless
  • IT-Sicherheit
  • Systematischer Test von Kommunikationssystemen
  • Plug-and-Play-Technik

Industrial Ethernet

Feldbussysteme als eigens für die Automatisierungstechnik entwickelte Kommunikationssysteme bilden die erprobte und millionenfach eingesetzte erste Generation der industriellen Kommunikation. Die zweite Generation der industriellen Kommunikation hat das Ethernet als Basis. Die Anforderungen der Automatisierungstechnik können jedoch nicht ohne weiteres von Ethernet erfüllt werden. Das hat dazu geführt, dass eine Vielzahl von Echtzeit-Ethernetkonzepten realisiert wurden. Der Arbeitsschwerpunkt des inIT im Bereich Echtzeit-Ethernet liegt derzeit auf dem Standard PROFINET.

IT-Sicherheit

Mit der Forderung nach einer durchgängigen Vernetzung ergibt sich zwangsläufig mit dem Einsatz von Industrial Ethernet eine neue Herausforderung: IT-Sicherheit (Security). Produktionsanlagen sind ebenso gefährdet, wie man es von der Bürokommunikation kennt. Die Anforderung an die Zuverlässigkeit des Automatisierungssystems ist in Maschinen und Anlagen jedoch weitaus höher, so dass Fehlfunktionen aufgrund von Angriffen oder böswilligen Manipulationen nicht toleriert werden können. Die erfolgreiche Etablierung von IT-Standards und Remote-Technologien wird deshalb in hohem Maße davon abhängen, die IT-Sicherheit in den Griff zu bekommen.

Industrial Wireless

Mit der Einführung von Industrial Ethernet wurde sehr schnell die Idee geboren, auch funkbasierte Kommunikationsstandards aus dem IT-Bereich, wie WLAN, Bluetooth oder ZigBee, in der Automatisierungstechnik einzusetzen. Hierdurch kann man beispielsweise mobile oder sich bewegende Maschinenteile einfacher an den stationären Teil der Maschine datentechnisch koppeln. Auch Ad-hoc-Installationen lassen sich einfacher realisieren. Hier stellen sich die gleichen Fragen wie bei Ethernet: Wie kann man mit funkbasierten Übertragungssystemen die notwendige Echtzeitfähigkeit garantieren, wie sieht es mit der IT-Sicherheit aus? Während im Bereich der Prozessautomatisierung mit WirelessHART nun ein internationaler Standard gesetzt wurde, dauern die Entwicklungen im Bereich der Fertigungstechnik derzeit noch an. Eine weiterhin sehr aktuelle Fragestellung besteht in der Koexistenzfähigkeit der unterschiedlichen Funktechnologien.

Systematischer Test von Kommunikationssystemen

Durch eine Reihe von Forschungsprojekten verfügt das Institut über eine hervorragende messtechnische Ausstattung. Unsere Mitarbeiter sind speziell für Softwaretests zertifiziert. Testdienstleistungen von Kommunikationssystemen und -protokollen sind daher ein Bereich, den wir sukzessive weiter strukturieren und ausbauen. Hierbei geht das Spektrum von komparativen Leistungsbewertungen (Benchmark) auf Basis messtechnischer oder simulativer Ansätze über Konformitätstests von IT-Protokollen oder Koexistenzuntersuchungen funkbasierter Übertragungssysteme bis hin zu Systemintegrationstests vernetzter Automatisierungssysteme.

Professor

Prof. Dr. Jürgen Jasperneite
E-Mail: juergen.jasperneite(at)hs-owl.de
Phone: +49 (0) 5261 - 702 2401
Fax: +49 (0) 5261 - 702 2409

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Stefan Witte
E-Mail: stefan.witte(at)hs-owl.de
Phone: +49 (0) 5261 - 702 2404
Fax: +49 (0) 5261 - 702 2409

Prof. Dr. Oliver Niggemann
E-Mail: oliver.niggemann(at)hs-owl.de
Phone: +49 (0) 5261 - 702 2403
Fax: +49 (0) 5261 - 702 2409

Prof. Dr. Uwe Meier
E-Mail: uwe.meier(at)hs-owl.de
Phone: +49 (0) 5261 - 702 2405
Fax: +49 (0) 5261 - 702 85895

Prof. Dr. Stefan Heiss
Mail: stefan.heiss(at)hs-owl.de
Phone: +49 (0) 5261 - 702 2402
Fax: +49 (0) 5261 - 702 2409